Podcasting for Movable Type just got better

Podcasting support for Movable Type just got better. In this most recent release of the [Podcasting plugin for Movable Type](http://www.majordojo.com/projects/podcasting.php), iTunes support has been rounded making it easier than ever before to get your podcast listed and listed properly within the iTunes Music Store. This latest release adds the following features:
* a [complete RSS feed](http://code.sixapart.com/svn/mtplugins/trunk/Podcasting/plugins/Podcast/example_templates/rss.mtml) that includes all of the proper iTunes meta data.
* an enhanced submission form that collects addition information about your podcast including its duration, whether it contains explicit material, a subtitle, summary, keywords and more.
* additional plugin options to capture important information about your blog so that its listing within iTunes can be finely tuned.
* support for basic authentication to access podcasts located behind a username and password.
* enhanced error messaging when linking to feeds.
This release is a necessary and important step to help make Movable Type the premiere self-hosted podcasting platform on the planet. I am excited by this release and am growing even more excited about the next one, which may include any number of the following features:
* download statistics for your podcasts
* iTunes notification pings
* auto-podcast submission to iTunes
But this plugin has been more the result of the [feedback](http://wiki.movabletype.org/Podcasting) I have heard from folks like [Bud Gibson](http://michiganinnovators.org/home/), [Todd Cochrane](http://www.geeknewscentral.com/) and others. So I anxiously await hearing from the Movable Type user community what *they* would like to see in the next version.

8 Comments on “Podcasting for Movable Type just got better”

  1. Hi Byrne, thanks for the update. We’re really looking forward to upgrading Michigan Innovators to take advantage of the new features in MT 4.x. We might take the route of using custom fields to hold the podcast info as I have suggested on the MTOS mailing list. However, we’ll test this too.
    Bud

  2. Ken Edwards says:

    Hey Byrne, thanks much for the basic user authentication, I can’t wait to try that out. The other enhancements sure look darn good, too.

  3. Byrne says:

    My pleasure Ken – your feedback was what led to the support for Basic authentication in the first place. Please try it out and let me know if it works the way you want. If not, let me know and I will fix it.

  4. redmonk.net says:

    Hi Byrne,
    One thing I’m looking for is that ability to republish a podcast feed. I have a cinch.blogtalkradio.com account that I phone podcasts into (as you know) and would love to be able to easily republish that on an MT blog…
    –Steve

  5. Matt Burgoon says:

    hi Byrne, thank you for your hard work on a great tool.
    here is how I use your plugin:
    1. I upload my own mp3s to the asset bin.
    2. I use your plugin to create a podcast asset f/ the uploaded mp3 (remembering the address?)
    3. I make an article, categorize it, and have organized my template set to make a podcast.xml from that category.
    a huge improvement would be to combine steps 1. and 2. – could I make a podcast asset automatically from an mp3 that I upload, so that I would have only one asset – and could put that asset into an article (with the flash player-awesome!) in the next step? that would save a lot of clicks and an overloaded asset list.
    another improvement would be if the uploading/asset generation could automatically detect length/bitrate/title/artist from the mp3 encoding, like podcastgen.sourceforge.net.
    i’m thankful for the plugin as-is, though; i’ve finally got integrated podcast (no more managing 2 sites in one) – thanks!

  6. Hi Byrne, thanks for this plugin.
    Following on from Matt’s comment, creating a podcast from an uploaded mp3 or video would be a great improvement. At the moment, we upload an mp3 into Movable Type, copy the URL of the uploaded mp3 then go back and create a new podcast asset from that URL.
    Is it possible to edit the podcast metadata (duration, explicit, block, subtitle, summary) after a podcast has been created and is listed in the asset library? If an author makes a mistake on the initial form, I think they have to go back and create a new podcast from scratch with the correct metadata.

  7. Untrodkim says:

    Hi excellent web there. keep it going.I honestly heart to browse your site.Last of all have good day

  8. Nova Dykhoff says:

    here is how I use your plugin: 1. I upload my own mp3s to the asset bin. 2. I use your plugin to create a podcast asset f/ the uploaded mp3 (remembering the address?) 3. I make an article, categorize it, and have organized my template set to make a podcast.xml from that category.
    Thanks
    http://www.cellphone-locator.com


Leave a Reply

