Universal Template Set Hacks

With the release of Movable Type Pro, and with us making is completely free to bloggers, the Universal Template Set has been quickly making its way into the hands of more bloggers. I often get asked by other UTS users, “could you send me your templates, I would like a front door that displays my action streams like yours does.”
Majordojo UTS Screenshot
In the past I just replied to those emails after having cut and paste my template code into the email. But recently I created a [handy template set generator, or exporter for Movable Type](http://code.sixapart.com/svn/mtplugins/trunk/tools/export-ts/) that makes it a snap for me to package up all of my templates into an easy to install plugin.
And that is exactly what I did with my current design. So if you are looking for a Universal Template Set, or Professional Website variant that includes support for Action Streams, look no further. Here it is:
Download Majordojo UTS now.
## Prerequisites
* Action Streams
* Media Manager
## Features
* Front door that has a list of recent blog entries, the last 20 items from your action stream, and a stream of items your are consuming from Amazon, YouTube and Flickr.
* A dedicated page and archive of Action Streams.
* Action Streams Atom Feed
## Feedback
Yes, I want to hear it. Send me a comment.

7 Comments on “Universal Template Set Hacks”

  1. Jeremy says:

    Thank you Byrne. Keep up all the great work.

  2. rhino says:

    Byrne,
    I just created a new blog on my testing install with this template set and then imported entries in to the blog to populate some data…however once i go to publish the files…i get errors for missing widgets. Here are the widget modules its reporting missing:
    Sign In
    Search
    The 3 Side-Bar Widget Sets
    Powered By (Footer)
    Footer Links
    Once I mt:ignore those out, the template completes the publishing process, however when I view the site nothing comes up. (I also tried refreshing the template set…but that didn’t help)
    -Ryan

  3. toni.hambilton.myopenid.com says:

    Looks like the export didn’t work properly because there’s no files in the mt-static folder.

  4. Byrne says:

    What version of Movable Type are you using? This requires Movable Type Pro 4.2 or greater. Do you have that installed?

  5. toni.hambilton.myopenid.com says:

    Hi Byrne,
    I hadn’t actually installed it yesterday, but have now. I’m using MTPro 4.2. The templates cited above are missing and I’ve been able to create the sign-in and search from backups. The others I’ve created from a test blog on the same server. A bit of to-and-froing between tabs.
    There should be at least a header file and the css in the mt-static folder but it’s empty. The css might have to get from your own css file.
    It’ll work, but now out of the box.

  6. toni.hambilton.myopenid.com says:

    Sorry Byrne,
    Just realised this is a default style and can be applied using StyleCatcher. Don’t need yours at all.

  7. rhino says:

    I have 4.2 Pro installed. I can also confirm that the mt-static folder in the download (that I downloaded the other day) did not have any files in it.


Leave a Reply

Universal Template Set Hacks

With the release of Movable Type Pro, and with us making is completely free to bloggers, the Universal Template Set has been quickly making its way into the hands of more bloggers. I often get asked by other UTS users, “could you send me your templates, I would like a front door that displays my action streams like yours does.”
Majordojo UTS Screenshot
In the past I just replied to those emails after having cut and paste my template code into the email. But recently I created a [handy template set generator, or exporter for Movable Type](http://code.sixapart.com/svn/mtplugins/trunk/tools/export-ts/) that makes it a snap for me to package up all of my templates into an easy to install plugin.
And that is exactly what I did with my current design. So if you are looking for a Universal Template Set, or Professional Website variant that includes support for Action Streams, look no further. Here it is:
Download Majordojo UTS now.
## Prerequisites
* Action Streams
* Media Manager
## Features
* Front door that has a list of recent blog entries, the last 20 items from your action stream, and a stream of items your are consuming from Amazon, YouTube and Flickr.
* A dedicated page and archive of Action Streams.
* Action Streams Atom Feed
## Feedback
Yes, I want to hear it. Send me a comment.


5 Comments on “Universal Template Set Hacks”

  1. rhino says:

    Byrne,
    I just created a new blog on my testing install with this template set and then imported entries in to the blog to populate some data…however once i go to publish the files…i get errors for missing widgets. Here are the widget modules its reporting missing:
    Sign In
    Search
    The 3 Side-Bar Widget Sets
    Powered By (Footer)
    Footer Links
    Once I mt:ignore those out, the template completes the publishing process, however when I view the site nothing comes up. (I also tried refreshing the template set…but that didn’t help)
    -Ryan

  2. toni.hambilton.myopenid.com says:

    Looks like the export didn’t work properly because there’s no files in the mt-static folder.

  3. Byrne says:

    What version of Movable Type are you using? This requires Movable Type Pro 4.2 or greater. Do you have that installed?

  4. toni.hambilton.myopenid.com says:

    Hi Byrne,
    I hadn’t actually installed it yesterday, but have now. I’m using MTPro 4.2. The templates cited above are missing and I’ve been able to create the sign-in and search from backups. The others I’ve created from a test blog on the same server. A bit of to-and-froing between tabs.
    There should be at least a header file and the css in the mt-static folder but it’s empty. The css might have to get from your own css file.
    It’ll work, but now out of the box.

  5. toni.hambilton.myopenid.com says:

    Sorry Byrne,
    Just realised this is a default style and can be applied using StyleCatcher. Don’t need yours at all.


Leave a Reply

