Initial Photo Gallery Builds Available

Thanks to the [Blog Herald’s quick write up on the new Mid-Century Photo Gallery plugin](http://www.blogherald.com/2009/02/16/movable-type-monday-a-photo-gallery-theme-and-an-open-thread/) I have gotten a number of volunteers to help test out the first builds of the newly refactored Photo Gallery plugin for Movable Type.
Here is a quick run-down of what I have done with the code and decisions I have made to make it easier to work with:
* I have factored out [Doug Bowman’s Stop Design templates](http://www.majordojo.com/2008/02/stop-design-photo-gallery-plugin-for-movable-type-41.php) into a different plugin. This new plugin relies on the Photo Gallery plugin to operate. You can [download this plugin](/projects/downloads/StopDesignGallery-2.2.zip) as well.
* I have turned the Photo Gallery plugin into more of a framework. Any template set that adds the `photo_gallery => 1` key to their registry will automatically convert Movable Type’s user interface into a more approachable photo management application.
* The [Mid-Century Photo Gallery Theme](http://www.majordojo.com/2009/02/a-photo-gallery-theme-for-movable-type-that-works.php) can be found in the Photo Gallery plugin and there I will maintain it as a reference implementation of a Movable Type photo gallery.
* I have decided to discontinue *free* support for Doug Bowman’s templates. They are simply too complex to do for free. If you rely on these templates for your site, I would be happy to support them as part of a services engagement.
Other things to note:
* You will need to install the perl module [Image::ExifTool](http://search.cpan.org/~exiftool/Image-ExifTool-7.67/).
* Photo Gallery in its current form *works for me*. I cannot guarantee that it will work for you, but that is why I need your help. Please install it and let me know if you encounter any problems.
I hope everyone enjoys the new theme! [Download PhotoGallery 2.2a now](/downloads/PhotoGallery-2.2b.zip).
*Update – 2/19/2009: Next set of builds available: [Download PhotoGallery 2.2b now](/projects/downloads/PhotoGallery-2.2b.zip). This fixes A LOT of bugs.*
*Update – 2/21/2009: I have created a [homepage for this plugin](/projects/movable-type/photo-gallery/).*

19 Comments on “Initial Photo Gallery Builds Available”

  1. Arelav says:

    Hi, Byrne!
    Good news about Photo Gallery plugin!
    I still have one question:
    Image::ExifTool is a required module or just an option? Will it work without that module?
    Thanks!
    p.s. can’t wait to test the new plugin versoin. are there any upgrade hints to be mentioned?

  2. Byrne says:

    Good news: Image::ExifTool is not required. I will begin compiling documentation soon about how to install it as it requires compilation and libraries to be present on your system.
    As for upgrades – in what respect do you mean?
    Chances are though, that I will *not* support upgrades from 2.0 and prior. I will however support upgrades from 2.1 on. The process is simply to complex. I can however offer to upgrade support through a services engagement.

  3. Ken Edwards says:

    So if I got the ImageExit plugin to stop saying “failed to load” as I got the perl module installed, does that mean I am good to go? I notice there is just a slew of additional Image::ExifTool libraries that are available for me to install as well.
    Now on to installing 2.2 of your Photo Gallery plugin.

  4. Ken Edwards says:

    Not working for me. First image I uploaded it showed the image thumb just fine. I clicked Allow Comments and clicked Upload Another.
    Next two I tried uploading did not give me warnings, but did not give me thumbnails. When I clicked Finish, I got an odd error that was an infinite loop I had to cancel out of:
    To display this page, Firefox must send information that will repeat any action (such as a search or order confirmation) that was performed earlier.
    Then I tried uploading another photo and got this error:
    Can’t call method “id” on an undefined value.
    http://bgviewsnetwork.com/gallery/
    Turns out the large version of all 3 images render just fine, but that is all. Also I cannot upload any more, keep getting can’t call method error.
    Ken

  5. Ken Edwards says:

    Not working for me. First image I uploaded it showed the image thumb just fine. I clicked Allow Comments and clicked Upload Another.
    Next two I tried uploading did not give me warnings, but did not give me thumbnails. When I clicked Finish, I got an odd error that was an infinite loop I had to cancel out of:
    To display this page, Firefox must send information that will repeat any action (such as a search or order confirmation) that was performed earlier.
    Then I tried uploading another photo and got this error:
    Can’t call method “id” on an undefined value.
    http://bgviewsnetwork.com/gallery/
    Turns out the large version of all 3 images render just fine, but that is all. Also I cannot upload any more, keep getting can’t call method error.
    Ken

  6. kimonostereo says:

    Hopefully I’ll have some time this weekend to try this out. This looks similar to what I did for the nemu gallery but much much nicer. Mine is just a template hack and I had to do all the thumbnails manually too.

  7. kimonostereo says:

    Hopefully I’ll have some time this weekend to try this out. This looks similar to what I did for the nemu gallery but much much nicer. Mine is just a template hack and I had to do all the thumbnails manually too.

  8. Byrne says:

    Ken – I have made LOTS of fixes to this plugin. Version 2.2b is now available for download (see update to post above). All of the issues you reported should now be fixed.

  9. Byrne says:

    Ken – I have made LOTS of fixes to this plugin. Version 2.2b is now available for download (see update to post above). All of the issues you reported should now be fixed.

  10. Ken Edwards says:

    Great. As I tried it on a fresh MT 4.23 install and it did the same exact thing. I will check it out.

  11. Rhonda Smart says:

    Just downloaded the b version and installed. I’m also getting the loop “To display this page, Firefox must send information that will repeat any action (such as a search or order confirmation) that was performed earlier.” but it seems to be working anyway when I cancel. I can’t seem to use the Upload Another button, because the error dialog replaces the upload form.
    Question: Is the index page supposed to show the photos or just the titles? I’m getting only the titles, so maybe it’s not really working? URL is linked if you want to see what I mean.

  12. Byrne says:

    FYI – Everyone will need to refresh their templates if they upgrade from 2.2a to 2.2b! 🙂 That will address your problem Rhonda.
    As for the Firefox warning. I have seen that and will work on a fix as soon as I can.

  13. Rhonda Smart says:

    So it did! Thanks.
    Next big question… I imported everything from my old (broken) gallery blog, but that only brings in the body. Is there a script to load the thumbnails, etc.?
    Not for you to fix, but I wish that assets uploaded in one blog, such as this gallery, were available to other blogs in the same installation, or one could point to an already uploaded photo but could keep all photos in one gallery. Anyway, thanks! I’ll keep an eye out for the firefox thing. BTW, I saw it on both my PC and my Mac.

  14. Byrne says:

    Rhona, I am glad that fixed your problem. FYI, I have created a [homepage](/projects/movable-type/photo-gallery/) for the plugin on which you can find upgrade instructions. Read them with care. I do *not support upgrades*. Unless of course you want to pay me. 🙂

  15. Carina says:

    Hi again, sorry I forgot to write that I also have my activity log full of “loading menus” which seems to be difficult loading and only when I am in the Photos section it adds this to the activity log

  16. ibntel says:

    http://www.ibntel.com
    Each year, Americans spend billions of dollars on long distance phone service. By some estimates, at least one-fifth of that amount is wasted on excessive charges. Fortunately, by making smart decisions regarding long distance plans, consumers can avoid wasting hard earned dollars.
    Ibntel

  17. ibntel says:

    http://www.ibntel.com
    Each year, Americans spend billions of dollars on long distance phone service. By some estimates, at least one-fifth of that amount is wasted on excessive charges. Fortunately, by making smart decisions regarding long distance plans, consumers can avoid wasting hard earned dollars.
    Ibntel

  18. water meter says:

    This looks similar to what I did for the nemu gallery but much much nicer.

  19. Free Service Manual says:

    This is so cool. I appreciate it and am have to try it.


Leave a Reply

