Teaser: Hybrid News Theme for Movable Type

The most common request from people contacting me is for a redesign for their web site. While I am happy to work with them to completely redesign their website and engineering one exclusively for them, but rarely do people have a budget for a high-touch engagement like that. Most people just need a quick, easy and *cheap* way to get started.
Movable Type has a number of options out of the box, but lets be honest: they are dated and boring. Their is [Mid-Century](http://www.movabletype.org/documentation/themes/mid-century.html), one of my favorites, and [Motion](http://www.sixapart.com/blog/2008/12/the-laws-of-motion.html) from Six Apart (available for free in MT Pro), but that is hardly much of a selection as great as they are.
So the mission I am taking on is to help change this. To help bring a greater variety of freely available themes to Movable Type. In pursuit of this, now when customers come to me with a small budget needing a redesign I encourage them to check out what open source themes are available on other platforms – and if they can find one they like, I will port it to Movable Type at a discount.
Most recently a client came to me asking for a “news theme.” It didn’t take long for us to find [Hybrid News for WordPress](http://themehybrid.com/). The theme is free and open source, which permits me to implement in Movable without worries about licensing.

Hybrid News Theme for Movable Type


I am not quite ready to release it, but I will soon. In the meantime you can check out a [live demo](http://www.majordojo.com/hybrid-news/).
The great news is that while developing the theme I added a number of features to the theme that are not available in WordPress – primarily because Movable Type allows me to add features easily without requiring a plugin. More on those when I am able to do all the documentation.
Stay tuned to this blog for the announcement when it is ready…
*Update: [official project homepage](http://www.majordojo.com/projects/movable-type/hybrid-news/index.php) has been made available.*

5 Comments on “Teaser: Hybrid News Theme for Movable Type”

  1. hybrid theme framework is one of the best themes for wordpress. are you planning to create a base framework and put news on top of it as it is in wordpress?

  2. Byrne says:

    In a manner of speaking, yes. This is the first Hybrid theme I have ported, so it is all encompassing if you will. As I port more, the plugin/theme will naturally permute into a framework as I abstract common elements out.

  3. WebCam says:

    Makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside just thinking about it 🙂

  4. blue heeler says:

    yes,the Hybrid News Theme was very Beautiful.but where can i Download?Blue Heeler


Leave a Reply

