Danny & Annie

Danny & Annie from StoryCorps on Vimeo.

Danny Perasa and his wife, Annie, came to StoryCorps to recount their twenty-seven-year romance. As they remember their life together from their first date to Danny’s final days with terminal cancer, these remarkable Brooklynites personify the eloquence, grace, and poetry that can be found in the voices of everyday people when we take the time to listen.

Two quotes grab me the most:
> I could write on and on about her. She lights up the room in the morning when she tells me to put my hands on her shoulders so she can support me. She lights up my life when she says to me at night, “would you like a little ice cream?” or “would you please drink more water?” Those are not very romantic things to say, but they stir my heart. In my mind, in my heart, there has never been, there is not now, or never will be another Annie.
> To me, marriage is like color television. Once you have it you never want to go back to black and white.
Arin, if you are reading this, I love you.

2 Comments on “Danny & Annie”

  1. Jesse says:

    Thanks so muh for sharing this, Byrne… it was heartwarming.

  2. Connie says:

    I would like to post this on Facebook…but that option seemed to disappear when I gave you access to my info…hope this is not a bad thing


Leave a Reply

